Australian Rules Football

The greatest game on earth!

MELBOURNE | Home of Australian Rules Football (AFL)

Australian Rules Football was created in Melbourne in 1859 and has been played in Australia ever since. It is a uniquely Australia game played between 2 teams of 18 players (on field) over 4 quarters on an oval shaped ground. A goal kicked between the two centre goalposts is equal to 6 points and a behind kicked between the outside posts is equal to one point. The winner is the team that kicks the most points.

Australian Rules is the oldest coded sporting competition in the world | AFL History

The Australian Rules Football League [men] comprises 18 teams in 6 states, season played over 23 rounds, a finals series culminating in a grand final.

Australian Rules fans are knowledgable, passionate and proud of the game.


View Event: Carlton Football Club | Blues
Carlton Football Club | Blues
The Carlton Football Club is acknowledged as one of Australia's pre-eminent sporting institutions. It is also one of the world's oldest, having be ..

View Event: Collingwood Football Club | Magpies
Collingwood Football Club | Magpies
Born in depths of depression in 1892, the Collingwood Football Club garnered support like no other team before its time. Our humble, yet proud, be ..

View Event: Essendon Football Club | Bombers
Essendon Football Club | Bombers
Sixteen premiership cups, seven Brownlow medals, the 1874 best & fairest trophy, the league's first premiership team, 'talking lockers' and much, much ..

View Event: Geelong Football Club | Cats
Geelong Football Club | Cats
The co-founder of Australian Rules Football, Thomas Wills established the Geelong Football Club in July 1859, making it the 2nd oldest club of any foo ..

View Event: Hawthorn Football Club | Hawks
Hawthorn Football Club | Hawks
The Hawthorn Football Club competes in the Australian Football League (AFL). The Hawthorn Football Club has a proud history, having grown from a s ..

View Event: Melbourne Football Club | Demons
Melbourne Football Club | Demons
Red legs | Dees | Demons The Melbourne Football Club is the oldest professional football club in the world. The club has had many significant ..

View Event: North Melbourne Football Club
North Melbourne Football Club
Kangaroos | The North Melbourne Football Club emerged from humble origins in 1869 out of a need to provide local cricketers with a sport throughout t ..

View Event: Richmond Football Club | Tigers
Richmond Football Club | Tigers
In 2018 the Richmond Tigers have declared ‘The Hunt Is On.' After 37 long years, in 2017, the Tigers took home the ultimate prize in the premiers ..

View Event: St Kilda Football Club | Saints
St Kilda Football Club | Saints
St Kilda figures boldly throughout the history of Australian Rules Football with one of the earliest recorded references to the game in 1859 mentions ..

View Event: Western Bulldogs Football Club
Western Bulldogs Football Club
Since joing the league in 1925, the doggies based at the Whitten Oval have won only one premiership in 1954 but enjoys a strong following from its pas ..


A.C.T. Northern Territory and Tasmania are not in the AFL competition.
Hawthorn and North Melbourne play a number of "home" games in Tasmania.


Grounds & Stadiums


Melbourne Cricket Ground | M.C.G.
Brunton Avenue, Jolimont, Vic 3002
Marvel Stadium
Harbour Esplanade, Docklands, Vic 3008 GMHBA Stadium (Kardinia Park)
La Trobe Terrace, Geelong, Vic 3220


AO Adelaide Oval BA Blundstone Arena CS Cazaly's Stadium DS Domain Stadium EU Eureka Stadium G The Gabba JS Jiangwan Stadium, China MO Manuka Oval MS Metricon Stadium SCG Sydney Cricket Ground SPO Spotless Stadium TIO TIO Stadium TP TIO Traeger Park US University of Tasmania Stadium, Launceston

Melbourne ANZ Stadium, Sydney
Melbourne Adelaide Oval
Melbourne University of Tasmania Stadium, Launceston
Melbourne Blundstone Arena, Hobart
Melbourne Cazalys Stadium, Cairns
Melbourne The Gabba, Brisbane
Melbourne Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast
Melbourne Optus Stadium, Perth
Melbourne Sydney Cricket Ground
Melbourne StarTrack Oval, Canberra
Melbourne Spotless Stadium, Sydney


Melbourne Foxtel

Melbourne Channel 9

Melbourne Channel Seven

Melbourne 3AW | 693

Melbourne ABC | 774

Melbourne SEN1116

MelbourneEON Sports Radio

Other Football Codes