St Andrews 3761St. Andrews is a rural locality 36 km. north-east of Melbourne, between Kangaroo Ground and Kinglake. It was originally named Queenstown, a goldfield, in the area known as the Caledonia Diggings. By 1865 it was also known as St. Andrews, and the presence of large numbers of Scottish miners gave rise to both "Caledonia"and "St. Andrews". Its neighbour is Panton Hill, which originally was called Kingstown.
St. Andrews was the earliest goldfield in the area. By 1855 there were 3,000 miners, and in 1856 it had a post office. The township was surveyed in 1859. A church school was opened in 1858, which was replaced by a State school in 1887.
By the early 1880s gold had declined and a community of small farmers grew.
The name "Queenstown"persisted for another fifty years, as the school's name was not changed to St. Andrews until 1956.
The Diamond Creek runs through St. Andrews, and there is another large village reserve beside it. On another reserve Saturday morning markets have been held since 1971. There are a recreation reserve, public hall, general store, hotel, bakery and an Anglican church.
The census populations of St. Andrews have been 125 (1933), 276 (1961) and 381 (1991).
❊ Web Links ❊
→ St Andrews 3761
❊ Also See... ❊
→ St Andrews Hotel | St Andrews
Things to see, hear & do this weekend
Make the most of your weekend in Melbourne with these fabulous events. No city does it better than Melbourne, so get out and discover the very best shows, festivals, ..
Melbourne Outdoor Cinema Guide
What better way to spend an evening than watching classic movies under the stars in one of Melbourne's outdoor cinema's. This Melbourne tradition where outdoor ..
Update Page Request