Bulleen 3105Bulleen is 12 km north-east from Melbourne CBD in the City of Manningham. At the 2011 Census, Bulleen had a population of 10,868.
Bulleen adjoins the eastern side of the Yarra River, which curves around as a northern boundary of Bulleen, comprising public and private recreational facilities. The remainder of Bulleen is residential, where it merges with Templestowe Lower and Doncaster. It is flanked by the Koonung Koonung Creek on the south, on the other side of which is Balwyn North.
Origin of Bulleen
The name Bulleen may come the nearby Bolin Bolin Billabong.. Buln-Buln translates to lyrebird, while another source says Bolin Bolin is Aboriginal for a place of loneliness.
The name was given by Frederic Unwin to his Special Survey of eight square miles in 1841. The land was suitable for dairying and cereals, and formed several prosperous holdings with spacious homesteads.
In 1856 the Templestowe Roads Board was formed, which included Bulleen. The Board was noted for its impoverishment, which was not improved when Warrandyte was added to its area in 1873. Two years later on 7th May 1875, all the area from Bulleen to Warrandyte was proclaimed the Bulleen shire. Contemporary descriptions of the shire make no mention of the Bulleen locality, and the name further slipped from view when the shire (from which Doncaster had been severed in 1890) changed its name to Templestowe shire on 12 Feb, 1892.
Being bordered on all but its eastern side by watercourses, with only two bridges (from Heidelberg and Balwyn North), Bulleen was cut off from central Melbourne. There was no public transport which came near it. Bulleen retained its rural landscape until well into the present century, and the few land subdivisions sold poorly. Bulleen was a source of fresh vegetables for the armed forces during the second world war, but dairying predominated from 1900s to the 1930s. Shopping could be done at one store, or across the bridge to Heidelberg. Residential subdivisions began to be taken up in the 1950s, and a primary school was opened in 1957.
Lacking fixed rail public transport, Bulleen was an ideal site for a shopping centre, which was built in 1974 and named Bulleen Village and later renamed Bulleen Plaza. The area attracted the wave of second-home migrants who had prospered in early postwar inner Melbourne. The Italian Veneto Social Club was built near the Yarra flood plain and opened in 1973.
Bulleen's picturesque river valley attracted art patrons John and Sunday Reed, who bought a house and land in 1930. Their property and art collection became the Heide Museum of Modern Art. The Reeds' patronage of Sydney Nolan resulted in significant Nolan works being included in their collection.
In the 1980s residential development filled Bulleen, except the river flats which became home to several private schools' sports facilities, the Yarra Valley Country Club and linear parklands.
❊ Web Links ❊
→ Bulleen 3105
→ Disclaimer: Check with the venue before making plans...
Drive-In Movie Club
Drive-In Immersive Cinema Nights Are Coming to Melbourne Put together by our friends at Hot Tub Cinema, a string of family-friendly, social distancing-safe, drive-in ..
Things to see, hear & do this weekend
Make the most of your weekend in Melbourne with these fabulous events. No city does it better than Melbourne, so get out and discover the very best shows, festivals, ..