St Kilda Pier Kiosk
The St Kilda Pavilion is an historic kiosk located at the end of St Kilda Pier built in 1904, originally known as Parer's Pavilion and later renamed Kirby's Kiosk but locally known as St Kilda Kiosk.
An accurate reconstruction of the fire-destroyed heritage St Kilda Pier Kiosk building has been reopened and is welcoming new friends and old to the St Kilda Pier once again.
Original kiosk plans from 1903, historic photos and surviving iron lacework from the arson-destroyed kiosk were used as guides to faithfully reproduce the look of the original historic and much loved structure. The original kiosk was devastated by fire on 11 September 2003.
Additions include a cafe out back and an observation deck up top. Along the length of the pier interactive panels tell the pier's history. The kiosk complex now sits on a concrete slab supported by 29 new timber pylons, to ensure minimum wear and movement. Here's to another 99 plus years.
Opening hours: Kiosk 8am until dark daily. Restaurant 12 noon until 11pm
LITTLE BLUE RESTAURANT
A truly unique dining experience at the end of St Kilda's famous Pier.
Fantastic food and local wines presented behind what must arguably be Melbourne's best city skyline views.
St Kilda Pier has been the centre of recreational activity in St Kilda since the 1850s. Both the old shed at the pier entrance and the pavilion at the end are part of Victoria's heritage.
St Kilda Pier's History dates back to 1853 when the St Kilda Pier and Jetty Company constructed a wooden jetty to assist the early settlers in unloading timber, building materials and firewood to St Kilda. Not long after its construction the small jetty fell victim to a stormy Port Phillip Bay and was washed away. Various forms of piers were constructed at St Kilda in the 1800s as the demand for a larger pier grew with the ever increasing trade to and from the area. Since then the St Kilda Pier has grown to its present size, with the most recent concrete section constructed in the 1970s.
The historic St Kilda Pier Kiosk was built in 1904 and has undergone several renovations in its time. Tragically, the Kiosk was devastated by fire on September 11, 2003. Original drawings from 1904 were used as the basis for the kiosk's reconstruction in 2005 and now a new era has begun for the kiosk. The St Kilda Kiosk has become a symbol of St Kilda, a place of seaside fun, relaxation and romance. In many ways it offers the same simple pleasures. So take your time to look around and reflect.
For an excellent guide to the history see the link below to St Kilda Pier & Kiosk - St Kilda Historical Society.
❊ Address & Contact ❊
⊜ Jacka Boulevard and Pier Road, St Kilda | Map
✆ (03) 9525 5545
❊ Web Links ❊
→ St Kilda Pier Kiosk
→ Gone. St Kilda kiosk, after 99 years on the sea - The Age
→ St Kilda Pier - Pictures The Age
→ Kiosk replica derided - The Age - June 30, 2004
→ St Kilda kiosk - architectural discussion - heritage and conservation
→ St Kilda Pavilion [not sure why?] From Wikipedia
→ St Kilda Pier & Kiosk - St Kilda Historical Society
❊ Also See... ❊
→ St Kilda Little Penguins
Things to see, hear & do this weekend
Make the most of your weekend in Melbourne with these fabulous events. No city does it better than Melbourne, so get out and discover the very best shows, festivals, ..
Melbourne Outdoor Cinema Guide
What better way to spend an evening than watching classic movies under the stars in one of Melbourne's outdoor cinema's. This Melbourne tradition where outdoor ..
Update Page Request