Avonsleigh 3782Avonsleigh, first known as East Emerald, is 46 km. east-south-east of Melbourne. Its name arose from Avonsleigh guest house, close to the Wright stopping place on the Belgrave to Gembrook railway line (now the "Puffing Billy"scenic railway). J.W. Wright was the owner of the guest house.
A school and a Church of Christ were erected at East Emerald in 1878 and 1879.
Until the second world war Avonsleigh was mainly occupied for timber production, but clearance for agricultural land occurred in the post war years. By the 1980s residential subdivisions along major roads occurred and a township of several shops developed.
The census populations of Avonsleigh have been 91 (1933) and 196 (1954).
❊ Web Links ❊
→ Avonsleigh 3782
Things to see, hear & do this weekend
Weekends are precious. Two days to do what we please. No city does it better than Melbourne. Get out and discover the very best of Melbourne shows, festivals, ..
Update Page Request