WINNER 2015 Melbourne Cup - PRINCE OF PENZANCE (19)

WINNER 2015 Melbourne Cup - PRINCE OF PENZANCE (19)

The race was run on Tuesday 3rd November 2015 at 3;20pm.

Prince Of Penzance won the 155th Melbourne Cup at Flemington.

A Female jockey has at last won the Melbourne Cup. Two female trainers have led in the winner and plenty of mares have won. But Michelle Payne, a 30-year-old from a famous racing family, has at last become the first woman to sit atop the winner as it flashed past the Flemington winning post.

For the record, the victorious horse was the 100-1 shot Prince of Penzance, whose form was nowhere near as bad as all that. But this race will be remembered for a person rather than a horse, and that person is of course Michelle Payne.

Payne wore silks which were purple, green and white. In a remarkable coincidence, these are the colours which were worn by the Suffragettes in England, a historical movement which actively campaigned for the right of women to vote.

Race 7: 2015 Melbourne Cup (Group 1 3200m)

PRINCE OF PENZANCE T: Darren Weir J: Ms Michelle Payne

MAX DYNAMITE T: Willie Mullins J: Frankie Dettori

CRITERION T: David Hayes & Tom Dabernig J: Michael Walker

4. TRIP TO PARIS T: Ed Dunlop J: Tommy Berry
5. BIG ORANGE T: Michael Bell J: James Spencer
6. GUST OF WIND T: John Sargent J: Chad Schofield
7. EXCESS KNOWLEDGE T: Gai Waterhouse J: Kerrin McEvoy
8. THE OFFER T: Gai Waterhouse J: Damien Oliver
9. QUEST FOR MORE T: Roger Charlton J: Damian Lane
10. OUR IVANHOWE T: Lee & Anthony Freedman J:Ben Melham
11. WHO SHOT THEBARMAN T: Chris Waller J: Blake Shinn
12. SERTORIUS T: Jamie Edwards J: Craig Newitt
13. FAME GAME T: Yoshitada Munakata J: Zac Purton
14. THE UNITED STATES T: Robert Hickmott J: Joao Moreira
15. HARTNELL T: John O'Shea J: James McDonald
16. BONDI BEACH T: Aidan O'Brien J: Brett Prebble
17. HOKKO BRAVE T: Yasutoshi Matsunaga J: Craig Williams
18. ALMOONQITH T: David Hayes & Tom Dabernig J: Dwayne Dunn
19. KINGFISHER T: Aidan O'Brien J: Colm O'Donoghue
20. PREFERMENT T: Chris Waller J: Hugh Bowman
21. GRAND MARSHAL T: Chris Waller J: Jim Cassidy
22. SKY HUNTER T: Saeed bin Suroor J: William Buick
23. SNOW SKY T: Sir Michael Stoute J: Ryan Moore
RED CADEAUX T: Ed Dunlop J: Gerald Mosse


❊ Web Links ❊

WINNER 2015 Melbourne Cup - PRINCE OF PENZANCE (19) 

Melbourne Cup Guide

❊ Also See.. ❊

Melbourne Cup Day 2024

Disclaimer: Check with the venue (web links) before making plans, travelling or buying tickets.

Accessibility: Contact the venue for accessibility information.

Update Page

Tags: winner of the 2013 melbourne cup

WINNER 2015 Melbourne Cup - PRINCE OF PENZANCE (19)