Outer Circle Railway Anniversary Trail

Outer Circle Railway Anniversary TrailOuter Circle Railway Anniversary Trail

The Outer Circle Railway Anniversary Trail has been a joint initiative of the City of Boroondara and Parks Victoria.

Twelve signs displaying historic photographic images and associated text have been developed to help path users to understand the historical features of the park and how these relate to Melbourne's railway heritage.

A working group consisting of local residents, members of local historical societies, railway experts and Council officers was established for the project.

The working group made decisions regarding the location of signs, the content of the captions and the most appropriate photographs for the signs.

The Public Transport Corporation, the Department of Natural Resources and Environment, Citipower and Yarra Valley Water have been consulted and the Department of Infrastructure assisted by providing photos.

Local historical societies and the Australian Railway Historical Society have assisted by providing historical information.

Outer Circle Railway Anniversary Trail

1.Bridge Over Yarra River
The Yarra River brick and steel viaduct was built for double tracks (though only one was ever...

2. Between Willsmere and East Kew Stations
The line from Fairfield Park to Riversdale opened in March 1891 but East Kew Station closed in...

3. East Kew Goods Yard
East Kew Station was built as part of the Riversdale to Fairfield Park section of the Outer...

4. Deepdene Station
Deepdene Station, named after the Deepdene Estate, owned by Mr D.C. Askew, and located on the...

5. Whitehorse Road Crossing 1912
The Riversdale to Fairfield Park section of the Outer Circle Railway opened in 1891 with a series...

6. Shenley Station
Shenley Station, to the north of Canterbury Road, was opened on 24 March 1891 when the Riversdale...

7. South Side of Canterbury Road Bridge

8. Riversdale Station
Riversdale Station, was named after Riversdale Road, originally Molony's Road, which changed its...

9. Hartwell Station
The station now known at Hartwell was opened later than other stations on the Riversdale to...

10. Toorak Road Bridge
Burwood Station was opened on 30 May 1890 with the name of Hartwell, after nearby Hartwell House,...

11. Ashburton Station
Ashburton Station, 3.25 miles from Oakleigh and 7 miles from Fairfield, was opened on 30 May 1890...

12. Alamein Station
The first section of the Outer Circle Railway line to be completed was the section from Waverley...

13. Black Bridge
The Outer Circle line left the Gippsland line near Poath Road and the current Hughesdale Station...

❊ Venue ❊

 Outer Circle Railway  Events 1 Events
⊜ Melbourne | Map
Outer Circle Railway, Melbourne, , 3001

Disclaimer: Event details can change at any time. Check with the event advertiser before making travel plans, buying tickets or proceeding ...

❊ Be Social ❊

❊ Web Links ❊

Outer Circle Railway Anniversary Trail



View a map of the Outer Circle/Anniversary Trail

Trending HOT

View Event: Things to see, hear & do this weekend
Things to see, hear & do this weekend
Make the most of your weekend in Melbourne with these fabulous events. No city does it better than Melbourne, so get out and discover the very best shows, festivals, ..

Stay in TOUCH

A free weekly wrap of what's on | More..

Update Page Upgrade Page