Municipal Association of Victoria

The Municipal Association of Victoria is the peak representative and lobbying body for Victoria's 78 councils.

Municipal Association of Victoria - The peak body for Victorian Local Government

A newspaper article about a local government lobby group in England provided the inspiration for the formation of the Municipal Association of Victoria in 1879.

In the 120 odd years since its formation, the MAV has focused its activities on representing, promoting and advancing the interests of Victorian local governments. Some campaigns have been constants - improved relations between local, State and Commonwealth Governments, better road funding, greater financial capacity. Others have verged on the obscure - the demand, in 1928, for scientific experiments to eradicate mosquitos "as large as canaries", or the council, in 1979, whose answer to insufficient funds for infrastructure development, was to buy a weekly Tattslotto ticket.

Throughout it all, lobbying, research, policy development, knowledge management, facilitation and service delivery have been the mainstays of the Association's activities.

Alpine Shire Council
Ararat Rural City Council
Ballarat City Council
Banyule City Council
Bass Coast Shire Council
Baw Baw Shire Council
Bayside City Council
Greater Bendigo City Council
Boroondara City Council
Brimbank City Council
Buloke Shire Council
Campaspe Shire Council
Cardinia Shire Council
Casey City Council
Central Goldfields Shire Council
Colac-Otway Shire Council
Corangamite Shire Council
Greater Dandenong City Council
Darebin City Council
Delatite Shire Council
East Gippsland Shire Council
Frankston City Council
Gannawarra Shire Council
Greater Geelong City Council
Glen Eira City Council
Glenelg Shire Council
Golden Plains Shire Council
Hepburn Shire Council
Hindmarsh Shire Council
Hobsons Bay City Council
Horsham Rural City Council
Hume City Council
Indigo Shire Council
Kingston City Council
Knox City Council
Latrobe City Council
Loddon Shire Council
Macedon Ranges Shire Council
Manningham City Council
Maribyrnong City Council
Maroondah City Council
Melbourne City Council
Melton Shire Council
Mildura Rural City Council
Mitchell Shire Council
Moira Shire Council
Monash City Council
Moonee Valley City Council
Moorabool Shire Council
Moreland City Council
Mornington Peninsula Shire Council
Mount Alexander Shire Council
Moyne Shire Council
Murrindindi Shire Council
Nillumbik Shire Council
Northern Grampians Shire Council
Port Phillip City Council
Pyrenees Shire Council
Queenscliffe Borough Council
Greater Shepparton City Council
South Gippsland Shire Council
Southern Grampians Shire Council
Stonnington City Council
Strathbogie Shire Council
Surf Coast Shire Council
Swan Hill Rural City Council
Towong Shire Council
Wangaratta Rural City Council
Warrnambool City Council
Wellington Shire Council
West Wimmera Shire Council
Whitehorse City Council
Whittlesea City Council
Wodonga Rural City Council
Wyndham City Council
Yarra City Council
Yarra Ranges Shire Council
Yarriambiack Shire Council

❊ Location ❊

Municipal Association of VictoriaLevel 12, 60 Collins Street  Melbourne Victoria 3000 | Map
61 3 9667 5555

❊ Web Links ❊

Municipal Association of Victoria 

Municipal Councils | Melbourne

Trending HOT..

Page Editor