Melburnian of the Year 2023 | Kon Karapanagiotidis

Melburnian of the Year 2023 | Kon Karapanagiotidis

The founder and CEO of Asylum Seeker Resource Centre Kon Karapanagiotidis OAM has been named the 2023 Melburnian of the Year.

Melburnian of the Year

Kon Karapanagiotidis

CEO and founder of the Asylum Seeker Resource Centre

Kon Karapanagiotidis OAM is the CEO and founder of the Asylum Seeker Resource Centre

Since the age of 18, Karapangiotidis has given back to his community, having volunteered in more than 20 charities from Indigenous, youth, homeless, mental health, community legal centres to people living with HIV/AIDS and children's charities.

​​​​The qualified lawyer, social worker and teacher is known for many things, including his gardening, cooking, public speaking and writing.

Karapanagiotidis has also published two books, a memoir 'The Power of Hope' by Harper Collins and a Greek cookbook 'Philoxenia - A Seat At My Table,' which is co-authored with his mother, Sia Karapanagiotidis.


Kon Karapanagiotidis OAM is the CEO and founder of the Asylum Seeker Resource Centre and a fierce advocate for the rights of people seeking asylum, refugees, and Indigenous Australians. Kon is also a human rights lawyer, social worker, Board Member for Children's Ground, philanthropist, masseur, and cooking enthusiast.


Melburnian of the Year

A Melbourne Award is our city's highest accolade.

The award provides the City of Melbourne with a platform to celebrate the inspirational achievements of people and organisations whose passion and commitment have helped make Melbourne one of the most liveable cities in the world.

The awards celebrate significant contributions in the areas of environmental sustainability community multiculturalism and strengthening Melbourne's profile.

Previous Melburnian of The Year

2022: Antoinette Braybrook
Antoinette has been recognised for her extensive advocacy and leadership in family violence prevention and service to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Island peoples over the last 20 years.

2021: Peggy O'Neal
Best known as the president of the Richmond Footbll Club was the first female president of an AFL club a board member for Women's Housing practises law and next year will be inducted as the chancellor of RMIT University.

2020: Professor Douglas Hilton AO FAA FTSE FAHMS
Under Professor Hilton's leadership scientists at Australia's oldest medical research centre have pioneered promising discoveries putting them on the cusp of developing antibody therapies to block coronavirus from entering cells.

2019: Dr Bronwyn King AO
Bronwyn King is a radiation oncologist tobacco free lobbyist and an acknowledged world leader in the fight against big tobacco investment.

2018: SecondBite | Ian Carson AM and Simone Carson AM
​Simone and Ian established SecondBite after watching too much good food go to waste while too many people went hungry.

2017: Susan Alberti AC
The inspirational businesswoman fundraiser philanthropist and footy fanatic was honoured for her lifelong work to help find a cure for diabetes.

2016: Neale Daniher AM
Neale Daniher AM is the Patron and Vice President for the Cure for MND Foundation.

2015: Bryan Lipmann AM
Chief Executive Officer and founder of Wintringham Specialist Aged Care.

2014: Professor Sharon Lewin
Professor Lewin is an internationally renowned researcher in HIV cure and the inaugural Director of the Doherty Institute for Infection and Immunity.

2013: Major Brendan Nottle
He has become the face of our beloved Salvos given them a higher profile and selflessly committed his life to help the downtrodden especially Melbourne's homeless people.

2012: Michael Gudinski
Born and raised in Melbourne Michael Gudinski built his empire including the Mushroom Group and Frontier Touring Company in his hometown.

2011: Harold Mitchell
Prominent businessman and media buyer for his contribution to Melbourne's arts health and education sectors.

2010: Jim Stynes
Melbourne Football Club president for his tireless dedication to the welfare of Victoria's youth through his work with the Reach Foundation.

2009: Susan Barton
A founder of the Lighthouse Foundation for supporting the youth of Melbourne.

2008: John Bertrand
A former America's Cup winning skipper for his charity work.

2007: Lyn Swinburne
Breast cancer crusader and creator of the pink field of women events.

2006: Ron Barassi
AFL great for inspiring others and his overall contribution to Melbourne.

2005: Andrew Gaze
A champion basketballer inaugural Melburnian of the Year for his "outstanding contribution"and for "tirelessly giving back to both his sport and the wider community".

❊ Web Links ❊

Melburnian of the Year 2023 | Kon Karapanagiotidis

Melbourne Awards:

Melburnian of the Year:

❊ Also See.. ❊

Melbourne Day 2024

Disclaimer: Check with the venue (web links) before making plans, travelling or buying tickets.

Accessibility: Contact the venue for accessibility information.

Update Page

Melburnian of the Year 2023 | Kon Karapanagiotidis