Shopping at Dimmeys is a unique experience. We pride ourselves on giving our customers bargains that cannot be matched by any other retailer.
Customers often ask us how we do it.
In 1853, a drapery store named Dimelow & Gaylard opened its doors in Swan Street Richmond* and soon became known to locals as Dimmeys. The name stuck and by the turn of the century, the owners renamed the store to Dimmeys Model Stores.
The recogniseable Richmond building was built in 1905 with the dome on top of the tower originally made of ruby-coloured glass. Each evening candles were lit inside the dome and the red orb could be seen for miles. Interestingly, there are no numbers on the famous clocktower face but the letters Dimmeys Stores.
Recognised by Melbourne's Age newspaper in 1998 as Melbourne No 1 icon, Dimmeys has been a beacon for bargain shoppers for 153 years*.
Dimmeys present-day owners maintain the original owners' simple philosophy, "Give the Customer a Bargain".
Dimmeys have 21 stores in Victoria (2017) | Locations and Times
* Sadly, the inaugural Richmond store in Swan Street, Richmond ceased trading on the 31st December 2012.
❊ Address & Contact ❊
⊜ 240 Geelong Road West Footscray | Map
✆ 03-9396 6900
❊ Web Links ❊
→ Dimmeys Stores
❊ Also See... ❊
→ Melbourne CLOCKS
Things to see, hear & do this weekend
Weekends are precious. Two days to do what we please. All day Saturday and Sunday to chill, fill and party to our hearts content. No city does it better than ..
Mad March Melbourne 2019
If there was any dispute as to Australia's leading events city, one only has to look at Melbourne in March to see how many first-class, world events are on. Melbourne ..
→ Page Editor