Trains : Department of Transport

Trains : Department of Transport

Trains : Department of TransportVictoria has an extensive passenger rail network of metropolitan, intrastate and interstate train services providing vital public transport links to communities throughout the State.

The Department of Transport coordinates Victoria's public transport network.

-:- Metropolitan trains
-:- Country trains
-:- Interstate trains

Metropolitan trains

Melbourne has the second largest (after Sydney) urban passenger rail system in Australia with 15 routes and 212 railway stations, 78 of which are premium stations.

Suburban rail services are provided under contract by train operator Metro Trains, which has a fleet of 369 three-car trains.

Country trains

A V/Line train Victoria's country passenger rail network is made up of 87 railway stations along 13 lines. Country rail services throughout Victoria are provided by V/Line Passenger Corporation.

Victoria's regional passenger rail network will be expanded in coming years with new services to be introduced between Melbourne and Ararat, Bairnsdale, Mildura and South Gippsland as part of the Bringing trains back to Victorians project.

Interstate trains

In addition to Victoria's metropolitan and inter-town passenger rail services, several inter-state rail services are also available. The main Melbourne-Sydney rail service is provided by the CountryLink XPT train. A Melbourne-Adelaide rail link is provided by The Overland train while The Ghan also serves Melbourne as part of its journey taking in Sydney, Adelaide and Alice Springs.

❊ Web Links ❊

Trains : Department of Transport

Trending HOT

View Event: Things to see, hear & do this weekend
Things to see, hear & do this weekend
Make the most of your weekend in Melbourne with these fabulous events. No city does it better than Melbourne, so get out and discover the very best shows, festivals, ..

Update Page Request