Australian Electoral Commission (AEC)

The Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) is responsible for conducting federal elections and referendums and maintaining the Commonwealth electoral roll.

The AEC has a National Office in Canberra, a State Office in each State capital and a Northern Territory office in Darwin. Each State is divided into Electoral Divisions. Each division has a Divisional Returning Officer (DRO) who is responsible for electoral administration within that division, in particular, the maintenance of the electoral roll and preparations for the next electoral event.

The rules for federal elections are contained in the Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918. Rules for referendums are contained in the Referendum (Machinery Provisions) Act 1984.

❊ Address & Contact ❊

Australian Electoral Commission (AEC)⊜ Level 8, Casselden Place, 2 Lonsdale Street Melbourne | Map
Level 8, Casselden Place, 2 Lonsdale StreetMelbourne
(03) 9285 7171

❊ Web Links ❊

Australian Electoral Commission (AEC)

Download Federal Electoral Boundaries Map 2010 [PDF 4.41Mb]

Trending HOT

View Event: Things to see, hear & do this weekend
Things to see, hear & do this weekend
Make the most of your weekend in Melbourne with these fabulous events. No city does it better than Melbourne, so get out and discover the very best shows, festivals, ..

View Event: Melbourne Outdoor Cinema Guide
Melbourne Outdoor Cinema Guide
What better way to spend an evening than watching classic movies under the stars in one of Melbourne's outdoor cinema's. This Melbourne tradition where outdoor ..

Update Page Request